Grooming, Hair, Hygiene, Moi, Remedy, Skin, Tutorials

Wax | Cire

Being from rather large cities my entire life didn’t exactly prepare me for a pilgrimage to the jungle, but I tried to prepare myself as much as a city girl could.

From the previous post you may have been warned of my two-week excursion to the depths of a community set within the dense Amazon jungles of Peru. This means goodbye hot shower. This means good bye thorough washing. This means hello whore bath. This means hello hairy pits and bikini sprouts.

Now, just in case I went scaling a high cliff at the end of the coastal mountain range [true] but got trapped at the top by rainy mudslides and had to tumble down whilst losing my sticky clothing to various rocks and branches [false] and make my way back to the nearest signs of civilization in my knickers – I couldn’t possibly be discovered pullulating shrubbery if I had to protect myself with high kicks and karate chops.

Days prior to my deployment into the wilderness I invested in a gem: honey wax.

Culprits:

GiGi All Purpose Wax

Muslin or Paper Wax Strips

Epilator Sticks (Popsicle Sticks)

  1. You’ll need a dry, clean surface to work with – baby powder the area in need for extra aridity.
  2. You’ll need to warm up the wax – my method is the hot bottom of a standard American coffee maker or a super duper low flame on a stove.
  3. Dip the stick into the wax briefly and make sure all the excess goo is off and it has cooled down – apply in the direction of hair growth.
  4. Immediately apply the piece of muslin/paper atop the wax, also in the same direction.
  5. Pat down the material for about 5-10 seconds, depending on the density of your hair.
  6. Hold the skin at the bottom of the strip nice and taut.
  7. Breathe in…breathe out and…
  8. Quickly pull the muslin against skin growth.
  9. Repeat.
  10. When you are bald and happy – massage oil…any oil all over the area, this will remove any excess wax and calm any inflammation.

The more you wax – the less and thinner hair grows back. I swears. My armpits have now forgotten all about razor burns and ingrown hair. My veejay is also very happy, though maneuvering a full Brazilian on your own is no easy feat. Needless to say, the jungle nor its inhabitants were offended.

Please visit Yantaló and volunteer your time for an excellent cause, now that you know the bare minimums. No pun intended.

Atop of El Morro, Peru. Waxed. Loved. Exhausted. Happy. True story.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

